top of page

Senior Spotlight: Nick Fix



MINNEAPOLIS, Minn.–Throughout the remainder of the season, we will be highlighting this year's senior class. Today, we feature Nick Fix.

Nick is a Computer Science major in the College of Science and Engineering. He is from Rochester, Minnesota and went to high school at Mayo. This season, Fix currently leads all Gopher defensemen with 36 groundballs. Through his career so far, he has totaled 95 groundballs, 1 goal, and 2 assists playing as at LSM and defense. Nick is a 2015 All-UMLC LSM, Scholar Athlete, and a 2016 All-UMLC defenseman.

When and how did you start playing lacrosse?

I started playing lacrosse in 7th grade.


What is your spirit animal? (Players are given a spirit animal by upperclassmen when they first join the team)

I’m a wild board. It’s pretty self-explanatory.

What are your plans after graduation?

I am moving to San Francisco and working at Intuit.

Most memorable moment as a Gopher?

My most memorable moment was beating Duluth in triple overtime. I feel like it was a big turning point for our lacrosse program.

Which of your current or former teammates had the greatest impact on you?

The kid is younger than me but I’ve looked up to him for a while. Trent woodcock is a soft-spoken leader that always leads by example and always has the team’s best interest in mind.

Do you have any superstitions? Pregame rituals?

I’m not superstitious but I get Jimmy John before almost every game.

What has been your favorite class you have taken at Minnesota?

Finance because I got to live the Carlson dream.

What is one piece of advice you have for incoming freshmen?

For freshman lacrosse players, always have the confidence that you are the best player on the field. There is still always a difference between being cocky and confident, but you need to have the confidence that you are going to beat everyone else on the field, to make sure you are the best version of yourself.

Do you have any hidden talents?

I wake up every morning with perfect hair. Everyday is a good hair day.

Favorite sport other than lacrosse?

Basketball

Favorite athlete?

Steph Curry

Favorite food?

Burgers

Favorite movie?

Fight Club and Pulp Fiction

What would you do if you won a million dollars?

I would open up a coffee shop.

Comments


bottom of page