top of page

Senior Spotlight: Luke Bromback



MINNEAPOLIS, Minn.–Throughout the remainder of the season, we will be highlighting this year's senior class. Today, we feature one of our captains, Luke Bromback.

Luke is one of the five captains for the Gophers this season. He is graduating with a degree in mechanical engineering with a minor in product design. He plans on traveling throughout Europe for a month after graduation before he starts his career as a manufacturing engineer at Emerson.

Bromback is a two-time 1st Team All-UMLC defenseman (2015, 2016) and a 2015 Scholar Athlete. The Stillwater native has collected 13 groundballs and 4 caused turnovers through the 2017 regular season. Throughout his career he has totaled 57 groundballs, 1 goal, and 1 assist.

When and how did you start playing lacrosse?

I started in 7th grade because my brother wanted to and I wasn’t getting any better at baseball.


What is your spirit animal? (Players are given a spirit animal by upperclassmen when they first join the team)

Hahaha, I am Kevin from UP. It is probably because I have a very quirky personality on the field and maybe I am little lanky. Also, I do really enjoy animated movies and plan to never grow up.

What are your plans after graduation?

Visiting my brother in Rome and then roaming in Europe for a few weeks. Then it is off to the real world as a manufacturing engineer at Emerson.

Most memorable moment as a Gopher?

Meeting #18 freshman year fall ball when I said, “Hey, I’m Luke” and he replied, “Hey, I’m Matt.” I haven’t called him Matt since.

Which of your current or former teammates had the greatest impact on you?

Every one of my former captains have helped me out. They all have taught me about leadership and how to be a good teammate. Hopefully, I have passed some of that on to the younger Gophers.

Do you have any superstitions? Pregame rituals?

Attempt to get pissed off.

What has been your favorite class you have taken at Minnesota?

Furniture Design

What is one piece of advice you have for incoming freshmen?

Just keep trying new things, and don’t underestimate your talent or potential impact on the world.

Do you have any hidden talents?

I learned how to whistle in college.

Favorite sport other than lacrosse?

Running.

Favorite athlete?

Nick Fix, kids good at everything.

Favorite food?

Chicken Parm Sandwich

Favorite movie?

Star Wars. Star Wars. Star Wars. Star Wars. Star Wars. Star Wars. Star Wars. Star Wars. Star Wars. Star Wars. Star Wars. Star Wars. Star Wars. Star Wars. Star Wars. Star Wars. Star Wars. Star Wars. Star Wars. Star Wars. Star Wars. Star Wars.

If you could have any superpower, what would it be and why?

To fly supersonically because the world would become a lot smaller.

Comments


bottom of page