top of page

Senior Spotlight: Nick Abbott



MINNEAPOLIS, Minn.– Nick is a graduating with a degree in business marketing education and plans to pursue a career in marketing and sales upon graduation. Nick was a three-year starter at attack for the Gophers, recording a total of 78 goals and 55 assists throughout his career, which ranks him 4th in program history with 133 career points.

Nick has collected First Team All-Conference and All-American recognition in 2015 and was All-Conference Honorable Mention in 2016. In 2017, Abbott became the eight Gopher to tally his 100th career point, while earning All-Conference Honorable Mention again.

When and how did you start playing lacrosse?

I started playing lacrosse in 7th grade for the Eastview Youth Lacrosse Association. I got into the sport because a lot of my friends that I played hockey with started to play.


What is your spirit animal?

My spirit animal is the Rockhopper Penguin. I got the spirit animal because they paired my spirit animal with my roommates Alex Wohl (the Puffin). They said that the Rockhopper Penguin and the Puffin are best friends.

What are your plans after graduation?

My plan is to pursue a career in sales and marketing.

Most memorable moment as a Gopher?

My most memorable moment as a gopher was either the double overtime win against UMD in 2015 or the win this season over St. Thomas. Both were great games.

Which of your current or former teammates had the greatest impact on you?

All of my teammates have had a big impact on me but if I had to choose one it would be Eric Fong. I was lucky enough to play with Eric for three seasons and he taught me so much and really helped me find my own game. Eric was a great leader on and off the field and always was someone I could look up to.

Do you have any superstitions? Pregame rituals?

No, I’m not very superstitious.

What has been your favorite class you have taken at Minnesota?

My favorite class I have taken at the U of M was Sales Training. I had a great professor who really made the class enjoyable and I learned a lot that I can take with me in the future.

What is one piece of advice you have for incoming freshmen?

Enjoy every minute of your experience. I know people say it all the time but this really is one of the best times of your life. Playing lacrosse here was one of the best decisions I have ever made and has provided me with some great memories and lifelong friends.

Do you have any hidden talents?

Juggling

Favorite sport other than lacrosse?

Hockey

Favorite athlete?

Steph Curry

Favorite food?

Chipotle Burrito

Favorite movie?

Division 3 – Football’s Finest

If you could visit any place in the world what would it be and why?

Lani Kai Resort in Fort Myers, Florida

Comments


bottom of page