top of page

Senior Spotlight: Nathan Monsein



Minneapolis, Minn.–Nathan was born and raised in Minneapolis, Minn. He attended Southwest High. After graduating high school, Nathan participated in a study abroad/gap year program in Israel. Following that gap year, he entered his freshman year at the University of Minnesota–Duluth. He transferred to the U of M–Twin Cities campus in the fall of 2015 where he is majoring in biochemistry.

In 6 games with the Bulldogs, Monsein collected 17 groundballs and 19-22 at the face off X. Throughout his Gopher career, he tallied 3 goals, 1 assist, while collecting 50 groundballs and winning 16 of 34 face offs. With the Gophers, Monsein developed into one of Minnesota’s best defensive midfielders. In addition, Coach Limpert named him as an additional captain early this spring. Most recently, he was named a 2nd Team All-CCLA defensive-midfielder, and received the team’s Chris Jenkins Award this year.

When and how did you start playing lacrosse?

I started playing lacrosse my freshman year of high school. I had previously been playing baseball but found out lacrosse was better


What is your spirit animal?

Portuguese man o’ war. I think they chose this because my clumsy playing style is similar to the way the man o’ war moves in the water.

What are your plans after graduation?

In the short term, I plan on getting certified as an EMT. I feel like it will be engaging work that I can enjoy while I figure out longer term plans.

Most memorable moment as a Gopher?

Best memories:

-Kyle Kappel’s preseason goal last year where he danced two guys and then had a dirty backdoor assist and got the bench fired up

-Beating St. Thomas this year.

Worst memories.

-Tough losses last year in California. Then being stuck next to bugsy on the flight home.

Which of your current or former teammates had the greatest impact on you?

Tom Valandra in high school, great mentor. At Duluth, Soderholm, Drake, Vossen, Straus, were all genuine teammates.

My first year on the Gophers one of our senior captains, Eric Fong, was an exceptional leader and player and taught me what is was to be a gopher. One of the most talented guys on the team, Josh Werkmeister, instilled confidence to my game and made me feel part of the team. Both these guys had and still have a big impact on me. This year a guy who is motivating me to work harder every day is Nick Fix. Trent Woodcock is also a guy who I try to emulate on and off the field.

This was tough because I feel like this year, every single guy on the team has had a great impact on me.

Do you have any superstitions? Pregame rituals?

Positive imaging.

What has been your favourite class you have taken at Minnesota?

Either Literature and Music Shakespeare/Verdi with Geoffrey Sirc or Ecology with Clarence Lehman. The professors made the classes. Also, maybe the time of day.

What is one piece of advice you have for incoming freshmen?

School is number 1. Be yourself, don’t worry about things you can’t control. On the field, stay hungry.

Do you have any hidden talents?

Make a great smoothie

Favorite sport other than lacrosse?

Hockey

Favorite athlete?

Rustle Westbrook

Favorite food?

Pasta

Favorite movie?

Lion King or Guardians of the Galaxy

If you could have any superpower, what would it be and why?

Ability to heal

Comments


bottom of page