top of page

Senior Spotlight: Matt Jorgensen



MINNEAPOLIS, Minn.–Matt Jorgensen graduated from the College of Biological Sciences double majoring in Microbiology and History at the U of M. Matt was born in Minnesota, but grew up in St. John’s, Florida where he attended Creekside High School.

The Gopher captain finishes his career with a .601 career save percentage and 595 career saves, which makes him Minnesota’s all-time saves leader. During his four years at the U, he has appeared in 58 games while making 51 starts, accumulated an overall record of 32-21. In addition, he has received multiple honors. As a freshman in 2014, Matt was named an Honorable-Mention All-UMLC goalie. In both 2015 and 2016, he was a First Team All-UMLC goalie and MCLA Scholar Athlete, while being also named 2016 UMLC Defensive Player of the Year. Most recently in 2017, Jorgensen was named a 2nd Team All-CCLA goalie.

When and how did you start playing lacrosse?

I started playing lacrosse in 6th grade when my parents signed up for the local youth league team. I didn’t transition to playing goalie until after my freshmen year in high school.


What is your spirit animal?

A stingray. I’m from Florida and my goalie stick is paralleled to my stinger.

What are your plans after graduation?

I’ll be working at a hospital as a scribe, volunteering, coaching lacrosse, and applying to medical school.

Most memorable moment as a Gopher?

Finishing the sweep of Minnesota teams by beating UST on senior night. #TeamNoSweatpants

Which of your current or former teammates had the greatest impact on you?

The one-and-only Steve Van Sloun. He was a great teammate and even better coach/mentor.

Do you have any superstitions? Pregame rituals?

Before every game, I re-tape my stick and draw a cross on the front and “MOM” on the back. I’ll try to piss Luke Bromback off here and there, too.

What has been your favourite class you have taken at Minnesota?

Eukaryotic Microbiology

What is one piece of advice you have for incoming freshmen?

Have fun. School work is important, but take the time to make college memorable. You’re only an undergrad once.

Do you have any hidden talents?

Nick Fix and I will take anyone on in 2v2 foosball.

Favorite sport other than lacrosse?

Football.

Favorite athlete?

Henrik Stenson.

Favorite food?

Swedish meatballs.

Favorite movie?

Transformers 2

What would you do if you won a million dollars?

I would save the amount needed to pay for medical school and invest the rest into building a practice facility for the UMN lacrosse team.

Comments


bottom of page