top of page

Rookie Spotlight: Aaron Peterson



MINNEAPOLIS, Minn.– Although he is not a rookie, Aaron Peterson will be playing in his first season with the Gophers. The junior goaltender spent his freshman year at the University of Minnesota–Duluth before transferring to the University of Minnesota Twin Cities campus. While at Minnesota–Duluth, he helped the Bulldogs earn an at-large bid to the MCLA Division II National Tournament, finishing the season with a 7-8 record. Peterson finished his freshman campaign with a .626 save percentage and 107 saves while splitting time in the net. He also was named Co-Tournament MVP for the UMLC Conference Tournament.

Prior to college, Peterson was a three-year starter for Wayzata High School. In 2013 he let Wayzata to a 9-5 record with a season save percentage of .543. The following year, Peterson led the Trojans to a 14-5 record and a berth to the Minnesota State High School League State Tournament where they placed 3rd after losing in overtime to the eventual state champions Eden Prairie in the semifinals. Peterson finished 2014 with 182 saves and a .664 save percentage. He was received All-Conference, First Team All-Section awards, and was named to the MSHSL All-Tournament Team. During his 2015 senior season, Peterson led the Trojans to a 13-2 record with 118 saves and a .624 save percentage. He received the Trojan’s ‘Defensive MVP’ award and again was named an All-Conference and First Team All-Section goalie. In addition, Peterson was named Second Team All-State and was also the recipient of the 2015 Mr. Goalie Award, which is given to the best lacrosse goalie in Minnesota.

What led you to decide to attend Minnesota?


I love Minnesota, can’t see myself living anywhere else. Duluth was beautiful, but when I was in Duluth, I really missed the atmosphere of the cities.

What do you plan on majoring/studying?

Sociology with a focus on Law, Crime, and Deviance. I grew up watching a lot of cops and have wanted to be a detective since I was just a wee lad.

What are you most looking forward to this season?

Our game against Duluth. It’ll be fun playing against a team I used to be on. I know a lot of the current players so it will be interesting to see how it turns out.

Favorite restaurant to go to?

Chili’s Too (at the airport)

Favorite movie?

Garfield 2: A Tail of Two Kitties

Favorite hobby (outside of lacrosse)?

Bee Keeping

If you could be any superhero, which one would you be?

Lizard Man has always been my favorite superhero. I would like to be him for a day and go around solving crimes.

If you had to live in another country for 2 years, where would you choose?

If I had to move anywhere I would move to Alaska. It is beautiful there and I don’t mind the cold.

Which of your teammates would you choose to take on the coaching staff in a game of basketball?

I used to play center for a rec team at my high school. I think any 4 of my teammates and I would absolutely obliterate our coaching staff.

What is something you can beat all of your teammates in?

Multiplication timetables. I am really quick with math.

Who is your celebrity Crush?

John Stamos

What is your greatest fear?

John Stamos

What is the most embarrassing moment in your life?

When I was 12, my first love Erika broke up with me on the swing set. It was a week before Valentines Day and she broke my heart in front of Derek, who was my best friend at the time. It was pretty heart breaking to me but I am slowly getting over it.

Guilty Pleasure?

I love talking to animals in high-pitched voices.

Is there a unique/odd talent you have?

I paint model planes.

Comments


bottom of page